Monday, August 27, 2012

Issac's Rainy Mood

Well, this has been a long day.  Stayed up reading 50 Shades (again) and suddenly it was like 4:30.  I'm awakened by Jayme texting and calling, seeing if I wanted to come to her house to ride out the storm.  Good news: Issac is just a tropical storm on our side.  Bad news: we still have to weather the bands it's bringing.  I have spent the day cruising the Internet and attempting to sleep.  It's 11:52 pm and I know that I'm not going to be able to sleep any time soon.  There has been a constant downpour for hours.  That's all well and good, but the creepy thing is the wind.  It sounds like horrible Halloween sound effects.

Back to Jayme:  I decide not to go down there, as it's already storming a bit and I don't want to drive in it.  I talk to Sam briefly and he warns that I shouldn't.  He's grown up in Central Fl... he knows, right?  Well, now I'm alone and scared and wishing I had braved the earlier mess to be down there.  Part of me thought that her on-again, off-again, (but now off and by her this time) boyfriend would show up and it would be hell.  Another part of me thought I'd hang with Eric.  He said it would be fine for me to drive around and whatnot... it wasn't bad.  Then I hear from him on his way over and he's like "holy shit. I may not make it."  And, he'd made the point earlier that it was going to be okay, he'd grown up there, etc.  So, if he's freaking while driving, I guess it was a good idea for me not to drive to Jayme in Boca.  Eric coming over to chill during the storms... Well, that was a flop.  It got to a point where we were kinda arguing and I believe he thought me to be jealous of he and potential other girls... well, he and I aren't together.  I finally had to tell him how I felt:  that I was void of any feelings for him or anyone down here and would probably never love anyone again.  Shit.  Is that how I really feel?  He was the closest dude to dateable that I'd met so far... but, I just would rather be with Daniel.  I'm glad that Eric and I just remained friends and didn't take that next step.  I'm sure my mind would've played tricks on me and told me that I liked him.  It has done that in the past.  So, Eric leaves and I'm left to handle this storm alone.

So, people have experienced this... no big deal, they tell me... whatever.  Um, I didn't grow up with this.  I grew up with the soft, quiet snow.  Yes, ice and lots of snow can kill people and the power can go out and it can be dangerous, but there's not the loudness.  The creepy wind is starting to remind me of the aliens from Sesame Street.  I don't like them at all.  Yip. Yip. Yip yip yip yip.  Yip. Yip.  Makes me shudder.  There isn't anything remotely close to creeping me out when it snows back home.  Nothing sounds like a fearful alien.  The only thing that's odd is when you step outside when the power's out (I remember this circa 8th grade) and it's like midnight and the sky is white... it's light, perhaps reflecting off of the snow.  I'm not sure why it happens or whatever, but it's soft and calm.  It's not this noisy thunder and lightening and wind.  Did I mention the wind?  lol  Sheesh.  

And here I sit.  Normally, one would think that rain storms are calming and help you sleep.  I even have a 'thunderstorms' cd and then there's always  www.rainymood.com, which is an awesome website and even has a song of the day-- today it was Death Cab for Cutie's "Summer Skin" (of all bands-- one that has gotten my attention lately... interesting).  Thank Sam for discovering that gem of a website.  Going to that site while this stuff is going on outside is kinda freaky... like surround sound or some shite like that.  lol

So, I also had an upset stomach during the latter, Kardashian part of the evening.  I became ill and am still sipping the Ginger Ale.  I think I've just been hyped about this storm and wondering what's going to happen and what to do.  I don't know.  I just feel like this keeps going on and the howling wind haunts me.  I wish, instead, the wind was calming music, but, alas, no.  I suppose I should take MY rainy mood elsewhere and turn off the computer.  Back to Ana and Christian, I suppose.

Next time we're supposed to get one of these things, I'm hauling ass out of here.  Either that or stocking up on earplugs so that yippy alien wind doesn't scare me.  Now is the time I'm wishing I had a cat and/or boyfriend.  Again, sheesh.

No comments:

Post a Comment